Intense Research for Effective Therapy

Throughout the world, more and more people are being diagnosed with diabetes. Projections are assuming that by 2030, considerably more than 400 million people will suffer from this metabolic disease. The causes of diabetes mellitus are mainly being overweight, following a sedentary lifestyle, and eating the wrong food. They lead from insulin resistance to the lack of insulin and a higher blood sugar level. 

Research done by WÖRWAG Pharma concentrates on the consequences of the disease, such as diabetic nerve damage. The aim is to encourage findings in the field of vitamins, minerals, and trace elements.

Company founder Dr. Fritz Wörwag has developed the active ingredient benfotiamine further and it became a milestone in the therapy of diabetic comorbidities. With its high bioavailability, it significantly contributes to protect against vitamin B1 deficiency.  

International clinical studies, meetings of experts, and symposia, plus close collaboration with research labs: We invest in science and clinical research so we can develop the best possible medications for our patients.

The Fritz Wörwag Research Prize

Recipients of the Fritz Wörwag Research Prize

1988Prof. Dr. Klaus-Henning Krause
Friedrich Bauer Institute, Munich
1991Prof. Dr. Roland Bitsch
Nutritional Sciences Institute of the University of Jena
1994Prof. Dr. Hans Konrad Biesalski
University of Hohenheim
Prof. Dr. Walter Zidek
Polyclinic of the University of Münster
1996Prof. Dr. med. Hilmar Stracke
Med. Clinic and Polyclinic of the University of Giessen
1999Prof. Dr. med. Hans-Peter Hammes
Mannheim Medical Center
2007Prof. Dr. Paul Thornalley
University of Warwick, U.K.
Junior Researcher Prize: Dr. Nicole Schupp
Pharmacology and Toxicology Institute, Würzburg
2009Prof. Dr. med. Vedat Schwenger
University of Heidelberg Medical Center
2013Dr.  Alin Stirban
Profile Institute for Metabolic Research, Neuss
Junior Researcher Prize: Ms. Chune Liu
University of Freiburg Medical Center
2018Prof. Dan Ziegler
Deutsches Diabetes Zentrum der Universität Düsseldorf
2.Preis: Prof. Jaqueline A. Pettersen
University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George (Kanada)